Southland Branch members who gained First Place in National Competitions and Awards.


2023 Trevor McMaster

Orbell Trophy.  (Best of all Species)

Mel Larritt Trophy (Red Deer)

Douglas score 370 1/8


2023  Paige Hodge

Best Game trophy by member under 19 years.

Best Game trophy by a woman member.

Fallow buck Douglas Score 228 1/8


2022  Erin Garrick

Best game trophy by woman member.

Chamois Douglas score 28 1/2


2022  Thomas Hopkirk

Putaruru Trophy

Undrawn pig tusks Score 17 3/4


2018  John DeLury

Manawatu Trophy

Whitetail buck Douglas Score 103 3/4


2010 Roy Sloan

Harvey Morrow Award, NZDA Research



2009 John DeLury

Harvey Morrow Award, NZDA Research



009  Roy Sloan

Monarch of the Glen

Member who goes above and beyond


2006  Euan Butters

Athol Hood Trophy Game Animals Photograph

Wildlife Cover photo

"Looking Back


2005 Euan Butters

Best Photograph - Birds

"Wily Weka"



2004  Roy Sloan

Severinson Trophy

Wapiti, Douglas score 360 1/8


1999  Jolie McLeod

Best trophy by a woman member

Chamois Douglas score 24 3/4


1996 Southland Branch

Rotorua Branch Trophy

Best Newsletter.


1993 Marcus Pinney

Best antlered trophy by a Junior

Fallow buck Douglas score 206 5/8


1989  Doug Andrews

Best game trophy by JUnior member under 19 years

Chamois Douglas score 28


1985  John DeLury

Literary Competition Section 'A" 

"North Lords 1983"


1983   John DeLury

Manawatu trophy

Whitetail Douglas score 122 3/4


1982 Anselm Haanen

McConachie Sheild

Chamois Douglas score 27


1980 Andrew Overton

Mel Larritt Trophy

Red stag Douglas score 298 5/8


1967 E Spriggs

Mel Larritt Trophy

Red Deer Douglas score 324 3/4


1962 Alan Harrison

Severinson Trophy

Wapiti  Douglas score 353 3/4


1951  Jack McKenzie

Orbell Trophy (Best of all species)

Red/Wapiti hybrid Douglas score 430
















Copyright © 2011. All Rights Reserved.